Exercise & Circadian Rhythms<br>Elizabeth Larkam<br>Discussion 4020

Exercise & Circadian Rhythms
Elizabeth Larkam
Discussion 4020

Watch this Discussion
Lori
2 people like this.
I’m glad you are taking up this topic.  I too am of the age where sleep is fleeting for me most nights.  I’ve found some help lately in chamomile tea at night and blue blocking glasses for tv watching after 9:30 p.m.  Exercise for me works out best in the am to early afternoon, just from the standpoint that as the day goes on I have more to do and am more likely not to exercise as it gets later.  Thanks for exploring this topic.
Thank you Lori for your comment. Sustaining health and well being is a personal practice of science and an art. Good to hear that you are finding approaches that work for you. Check out the book in our references for additional info. 
2 people like this.
Thank you Amy and Elizabeth for this interesting discussion! I'm a Pilates teacher student with a full-time desk job and finding time to practice without stressing about it is constant work. However, much of what you ladies say resonates - for example, I've started to prioritize movement no matter what BUT since I began to differentiate between "strong"/"study" sessions and gentler work (on the Mat, or just being outdoors for example) I've been able to manage my energy much better. Now I don't have kids (no idea how I'd do that :D ) and my job allows for remote work and no one there is looking over my shoulder which is wonderful, and I realise not everyone is in that position. It would take work in society as a whole to prioritize wellbeing in this way! But, everyone can take steps and as a future educator this is extremely important to remember. Thanks again, love you ladies :)Thanks to you I can now be even more deliberate and informed in my choices.