Leg Cramps

I'm new to Pilates, over 50 and getting some leg and foot cramps. What causes this and what should I do when this happens as it's painful.
Hi Sue- I have dealt with foot cramps myself, and known others with foot and leg cramps too. I hope you get input from a number of people, but here's my advice: In my experience and from what I have read, the cramping (both foot and lower leg) likely comes from too much muscular involvement in the lower leg. Pointing the toes too hard will involve too much of the musculature below the knee, and this is undesirable for two reasons.
Physiologically, the muscles are small, and cramp more easily. More importantly, from a bio-mechanical perspective, a too-strong toe point or too much muscle contraction in the feet or calves takes the emphasis away from where it should be, and that is higher up in the leg. Leg activation, whether it be straight or bent, originates by an active "wrapping" of the inner and outer thigh. My favorite cue here is to point your leg, not your toes, feeling like the ball of your big toe is the end of the leg, the toes are relaxed and not curled.
... (continued) In straight or bent leg positions, the emphasis should always be in the pelvis and high in the thighs... the lower leg and foot are along for the ride .
To get this feeling right away, try standing heel raises (relevés). Place feet in "Pilates first" (heels together, feet in a small "V"). Start by standing tall, pulling in the abdominals, lifting the pelvic floor and "wrapping" the upper thighs, pressing the heels together to activate the entire inner leg. As you raise the heels, feel that the heels are "pulled" up from the floor, rather than the feet "pushing" the heels off the floor.
Keep that concept involved in all leg work, and hopefully the cramping will be relieved (and you'll be well on your way to a stronger, more stable form!)