What Pilates Reformer Springs Should I Use? (FAQs)

What Pilates Reformer Springs Should I Use? (FAQs)

Read This Article
4 people like this.
I’m a certified classical instructor . I recently purchased a Peak wood studio reformer , with 4 springs (yellow, yellow, blue, red) included . I was trained Gratz , and am curious if you know the difference between one yellow spring (which is “regular /full” for Peak) is similar or equivalent to one spring on a Gratz  Reformer . I also had a client recently ask the question, “How much weight is each spring exactly ?” I could only answer how they differ from one another ; I didn’t have an exact conversion to pounds which was the answer she was looking for . 
Lena W
6 people like this.
I've looked at all the information I can find on the site regarding spring comparison between BB and Stott and in one post Kristi says the full weight springs on Stott are comparable to the red springs on BB, but Gia's post says green- can you clarify? Thanks for this information. I am new to reformer work and just purchased a Stott machine but would like to continue using Pilates Anytime.  While I understand the thought behind instructors describing how it should feel to the individual user instead of relying on the spring setup, I simply don't trust that I have enough experience to accurately associate the description given to what I'm feeling.  Not sure that makes sense in writing... :)
I have an aeropilates with 4 black cords. I recently bought 2 red cords and a yellow cord. I am thinking about arranging my cords so that I have one red, two black and one yellow. How would these cords correspond to the reformers
 you use on the videos? I’m often confused as to how many cords I should be using. Thank you.
2 people like this.